My Amazing Trip to Florida by Samar Kazmi

My life began when I was born in the year 2001.The first thing I remember is seeing my mother. Her beautiful blue eyes and silky hair. That’s all I remember of her. When I was four years old, my dad told me that I was old enough to know that my mother died of cancer when I was a baby. That explains why I never see her. As I was growing up, I realized life was hard for my dad and I. He was always struggling to find a job and spent all his money on my education. I’ve given it my all to help him but nothing seems to be working. Then one day something strange happened. Let me take you back, two years in 2008, Washington DC.

“Come Jake time to go.” Said Dad

“Go where dad?”, I replied feeling a bit dazed at the thought of travel.

“For the millionth time, we’re going to Florida for your summer vacation.”

“But dad we would have to spend money and we don’t even have that much.”

“Relax, everything will be okay, it is our first vacation in six years.”

 “Fine I’ll come”

He always tells me to relax but how can I? I am extremely surprised because I have never seen him so calm before! I got ready for the flight and packed my bag. The trip to the airport was pretty boring since there are a lot of busy streets and people go to work the entire day. Living in Washington DC isn’t easy because there is a lot of traffic and it is really busy city. When we reached the airport there was a massive crowd. I predicted they were all going for holidays and I was right. There were people going to different places like Chicago, Florida, India and Italy. People were carrying all sorts of different luggage like sweaters, mittens and beach trunks among other kind of holiday gear.  Once we got through the crowd, we boarded the plane and sat in our seats.

I told my dad I was hungry but he said I needed to wait for the food trolly to come. Finally, after what felt like hours of waiting, the food trolly came.

“Okay, what do you want to eat?”, dad asked me.

 “Hmmm I want a cup of noodles.” Somehow, I loved the idea of eating junk on airplanes although I don’t remember being on one.

There was one big problem, it cost money. We were already spending a lot of money on the trip I didn’t want to spend more

“Dad do we have to pay money?”

“Yes son.” He replied rather firmly, “Now, can we please get one cup of noodles and one English breakfast?” He asked the air hostess.

 I had my noodles and slept for the rest of the flight. Once the flight ended, we gathered our luggage and started leaving. When we were about to leave my dad took an abrupt left and met up with a woman.

“Jake, I would like you to meet Lucy. I met her at my job interview.”

“Hi Lucy,” I said

“She is coming to the same hotel as us.”

I didn’t like this one bit. When I wasn’t looking Lucy asked my dad out for dinner and he said yes.

 “Hope to see you soon.”

After Lucy said that, she walked away and so did we.

In the cab while driving to the resort my dad asked me why I looked so sulky and angry. I didn’t answer but after sometime he realized why.

“Look, we have been facing a lot of challenges lately and I think Lucy is perfect. Your mother meant the world to me and I hoped she would have never left but she has. Lucy asked me out for dinner and I accepted.”

Later that night I was watching TV while my dad was getting ready to meet Lucy. I thought about what he had said in the car. I wanted to sabotage their date so badly but I couldn’t figure how. Let’s wait and see how their dinner pans out. Once my dad came out of the bathroom, he told me I was coming for dinner with them. I was nervous to go for dinner with Lucy but then again, this was the perfect opportunity to ruin their date.

 After some time I considered the invitation and told my dad I was coming. I was so distracted forming a plan in my head I didn’t hear my dad shouting my name.

 “Jake…. Jake…Jake can you hear me?”

“Yeah, what happened?”

“Go for your bath, we have leave in ten minutes.”

I had my bath and wore my best clothes. Outside I saw many other kids with their mothers and I started to feel a bit left out. I still didn’t have a plan but while we were walking to the hotel’s restaurant, I noticed there were places where you could buy balloons. That’s when it struck me, my master plan. I asked my dad if I could buy some balloons. He said yes so, I bought some balloons and kept them in my pocket. When we reached the restaurant, I told my dad I needed to use the washroom. I went there and filled one balloon with water and left the rest deflated. I think you know where this is going. I came out with the water balloon in my pocket and joined Lucy and my dad at the table. I started eating my pasta when Lucy asked my dad how he manages with me with all his problems.

“It isn’t that hard since Jake cooperates a lot and he never makes a fuss. He always looks out for me and does what’s best for himself too.” my dad replied

“Is this true?” Lucy asked me.

 I finished swallowing my bite like any good boy would and replied “Yes I always look out for him.”

Feeling very proud I went back to eating my pasta.

“He seems like a great child Arnold. You should be proud.”

“I am really proud that he is my kid.”

At that moment I was really doubting myself whether I should splash Lucy with a water balloon. I did what had to be done.

I pretended to accidentally drop my fork under the table and told my dad I was going to pick it up. I went under the table, removed the deflated balloons and filled two with air. I crawled back to my chair, stood up and gave the balloons to Lucy. She was starstruck.

“Here you go, I filled some balloons for you.”

“Thank you so much. No one has ever given me a special gift before.”

I felt extremely happy and surprisingly amazed at myself. From hating Lucy to giving her balloons.

“Well done, Jake, I didn’t know you had it in you. See, I told you, you’d like her,” my dad proudly said.

 “Turns out she isn’t so bad; sorry I was mad at you,” I replied.

“It’s okay,” he told me.

The rest of the vacation went much better. We spent a lot of time with Lucy, she introduced us to her parents and we even watched a movie together in my room

Life has become much easier for my dad and I. We have moved from our old house; I have a good school and lots more friends. We don’t live in a small house anymore and my dad has more money as he is able to keep his job. Now he works as a mechanic and has opened his own company ‘Under the Hood’. We live in Florida and we have new family member; Lucy. 

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started